This past Monday 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios were recalled because wheat flour was used in making the cereal.
General Mills sent out a press release that said “The use of wheat flour means the cereals are not gluten-free, and people with conditions like wheat allergies or celiac diseases who consume it might suffer and allergic reaction or discomfort.”
President of the cereal division Jim Murphy posted in the company blog, “Our Lodi production facility lost rail service for a time and our gluten-free oat flour was being off-loaded from rail cars to trucks for delivery to our facility on the dates in question.” Murphy also admits he is “embarrassed and truly sorry.”
I think it was a smart move for Murphy to post in the company blog as he explains how he genuinely cares what happened and is embarrassed.
On the General Mills website and via social media they shared information on how consumers can identify the boxes that have been recalled.
General Mills said the boxes affected are for Honey Nut Cheerios “better if used by” July 12 to 25 2016, and Cheerios “better if used by” July 14 to July 17, 2016.
On Twitter General Mills tweeted “We are so sorry to announce we’re recalling some of the boxes Cheerios/Honey Nut Cheerios. Please view image below and share.” Attached was a statement from General Mills as well as a picture showing what dates are being recalled and where to find the date on your box.
I love how in the message from the tweeted picture General Mills says, “we will work extremely hard to earn your trust back.” To me that shows they really care about their consumers and what their company stands for. I haven’t lost trust in General Mills because they are backing up what they have done and offering a replacement box or even my money back.