Project 8: Brochure

P8-OliviaWaddell, font and back         P8-OliviaWaddell-Backk

P8-OliviaWaddell-Inside

Description: A two sided brochure.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills) I first sketched out ideas for my logo. I then opened Adobe Illustrator to start my design for my logo. After I finished I opened Adobe Indesign and opened a new document with two pages. I then used the ruler tool to form where each side of my tri-fold would be.

Next I began looking for pictures that would work well with my color scheme and for my audience. I then wrote my body copy thinking about what the most important information would be for my audience. I then took colors from my logo and placed them onto each fold in my brochure.  After I place my pictures, body copy, headings, and logo onto the appropriate fold. I used boxes around the headings of each fold to bring repetition while bringing out every color from my color scheme. 

For the jet ski I opened up Adobe Photoshop and used the quick selection tool to remove the background. I then used the refine mask tool to smooth, feather, shift edge, and apply contrast to the outside of the jet ski. I then placed the jet ski into Indesign and used the text wrap option around the alpha channel of the jet ski. I then slanted the jet ski to bring in contrast to the brochure.

Message: Inform people at Lake Powell and the surrounding areas where the best place to get rentals is from. I am showing them the option Lake Powell Rentals has to offer and how to get in contact with us.

Audience: Adults between the ages of 30 – 60. Also Lake Powell lovers.

Top Thing Learned: How to text wrap an image.

Color scheme and color names: Split Complementary, Teal, Red, Orange

Title Font Name & Category: Bebas Neue, Sans Serif

Copy Font Name & Category: Centabel Book, Serif

Word Count of copy: 278

Thumbnails of Images used:

 newww jet ski      boat 2      Houseboat

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Sources (Links to images on original websites)

http://www.marine-products.com/blog/houseboat-vacation-meals-made-easy/

https://seadooonboard.files.wordpress.com/2012/10/2013-sea-doo-gtx-ltd-is-action7-resized-for-blog.jpg

http://beautifulplacestovisit.com/tag/utah/

http://www.onlyinboards.com/inboard-boats/Mastercraft/2011/2011-MasterCraft-X-35.aspx

 

3 thoughts on “Project 8: Brochure

  1. I really like your brochure Olivia. I’ve only been to Lake Powell a couple of times but it was so fun. I really like the way you made the logo blend in with the background image, so it looks like its floating on the water. I like the color scheme you chose and think it fits really well with the idea of your design. Great job on your brochure! Here’s another one that i thought was unique https://dallanbabb.wordpress.com/2015/12/06/project-8-brochure/comment-page-1/#comment-38

    Like

  2. Olivia, this is one of my favorite brochures this week…so great job! I have been to Lake Powell a couple times and I really enjoyed the images you used to capture Lake Powell’s beauty. I really enjoy the color behind your title text, it really makes it pop! I also really love the colors you used in your logo, the color scheme is very fitting. Good job! You should check out Ronnie’s brochure: https://ronnieharris14.wordpress.com/

    Like

  3. This is fantastic, Great job on the cut out of the jet ski. I really like the colors you chose to represent lake powell. Fantastic color scheme. I am not sure why the first picture is upside down but the design part of it looks great right side up. Nice work.

    Let me know what you think of mine please:
    skywardfallingblog.wordpress.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

